Click to Show Notification


CIBC Northern Lights Scholarship Recipients Announced

14 September 2022, TORONTO – The Northern Lights Aero Foundation is delighted to announce the CIBC Northern Lights Scholarship for Canadian women pursuing flight training. The four recipients of $5,000 each are: Urooj Ali, Kimberly Ballantyne, Annika Sun and Joy Wan.

Urooj Ali is studying Geography and Aviation at the University of Waterloo and completing her Commercial Pilot License.

Kimberly Ballantyne trained for her Private Pilot License at First Nations Technical Institute and is starting her Commercial License at Harv’s Air in Winnipeg.

Annika Sun recently graduated from the Commercial Pilot Program at the British Columbia Institute of Technology and is training as a Flight Instructor at the Pacific Flying Club in Vancouver.

Joy Wan is in her fourth year of the Science and Aviation program at the University of Waterloo and is completing her Airline Transport Rating.

We are grateful to CIBC for making the ambitions of these women a reality. Less than six percent of pilots flying commercially are female.

The scholarships will be presented at the Northern Lights Aero Foundation Elsie MacGill 2022 gala on Saturday, October 22, 2022 at the Sheraton Parkway Hotel and Suites Conference Centre in Richmond Hill, Ontario.

The Northern Lights Aero Foundation inspires and encourages Canadian women in aviation and aerospace with mentorship, scholarships, a speaker’s bureau and an annual award event. For more information, please visit, and follow on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn and Twitter.