Click to Show Notification


Nominations Open for Prestigious Aviation and Aerospace Awards

MARKHAM, ONTARIO, December 10, 2018 – The Northern Lights Aero Foundation is now accepting nominations for its 11th Annual Awards Program. Each year, the national not-for-profit foundation honours outstanding Canadian women who have made a significant contribution to aviation or aerospace, and who continue to lay the ground work for other women to enter or excel in these industries.

The Northern Lights Aero Foundation’s Elsie MacGill Awards – “The Elsie” is named after aviation pioneer and human rights advocate Elsie Gregory MacGill, the world’s first female aircraft designer. MacGill graduated from the University of Toronto’s electrical engineering program in 1927 and later became pivotal in the design and production of the Hawker Hurricane in Canada during the Second World War. During her career, MacGill was appointed to the Canadian Royal Commission on the Status of Women, and was made an Officer of the Order of Canada.

The Foundation is always working on new initiatives and 2018 brings the introduction of our new Northern Lights Aero Foundation Mentorship Program, sponsored by Porter Airlines. We also recognize Air Canada as our Premier Sponsor in 2018.

The 2019 recipients will be selected by a judging panel comprised of industry experts and veterans, and will be honoured at the Elsie Awards gala in the Toronto area, in September,  at the Sheraton Parkway Hotel and Conference Centre.

To nominate an outstanding woman, or for more information about the Northern Lights Aero Foundation and sponsorship opportunities, visit:

Nominations submission deadline is March 31, 2019.



About the Northern Lights Aero Foundation

The Northern Lights Aero Foundation is a not-for-profit organization that recognizes outstanding Canadian women in aviation and aerospace. Its mission to create career opportunities for Canadian women in aviation and aerospace.  In support of the mission the Foundation inspires and encourages increased participation of women in these industries by: heightening the visibility of honourees as role models; promoting awareness of the vast opportunities in all sectors; and ensuring organizations recognize and benefit from women’s diverse and untapped talents.

The Foundation’s national awards program, The Elsie, was established in 2009, and each year honours up to eight women for their contributions in specific aviation and aerospace disciplines. Award categories are: Flight Operations (civilian), Government, Business, Education, Pioneer, Engineering, and two Rising Stars.

Contact: Cathy Fraser,

Additional information

Check us out on Facebook